Congratulations, America

For the first time in my life I have lost all hope and respect for the citizens of this country.

My whole life I’ve defended its stupidity, its mistakes, its flaws. It had its issues with racism, classism, sexism, bigotry, overall prejudice. It has violent tendencies and isn’t the brightest nor the most liked crayon in the box, but I defended it through every step. I assured naysayers we were growing up and the Obama presidency led me to believe we were on our way to making this country a country for everyone. Where anyone could come and make something of themselves. Get a job, find a home, grow old, and know they’re truly in the land of the free. True, freedom for all does mean freedom for all which means there will be those with whom you disagree or even hate, but at least we all had those freedoms.

But as I’m sitting here, watching the presidential election unfold, you’ve proven me wrong. You’ve shown me that America isn’t growing. We’re not the land of the free. We’re not the land of equality. We’re not the land of anything. No. We are the land of racism. Of sexism. Of classism. Of bigotry.

It seems like this country took one look at our future where we had equality for all and decided they didn’t like it so now we’re going back, back to when only a certain group had rights. Back when minorities and women had to sit quietly and know their place at the bottom of society. Back when the privileged could beat the minorities into submission and no one would care.

This country is not for us. According to America we are nothing more than an unwelcomed guest whom they’ve allowed the privilege to enter on their terms, even though they, too, came here uninvited. Probably more uninvited than the rest of us.

What I think people fail to realize is that it doesn’t matter that our democratic system won’t allow Trump to do everything he wants. What matters is that those who love his policies are now alive. They’re now out of hiding and now have a social pass to treat those different from them with as much abuse and scorn as they want without repercussion. Because why not? Their president agrees with them.

I have no more respect for you, America. I am officially ashamed of you. Your distain for change is disgusting. And this is coming from a depressed socially anxious person who hates change.

I never thought I would say this, but for the first time in my life I think I hate my country…

Leave a Reply

