Let Them Wear Shorts!

With my own two ears the other day I heard one of the most common complaints about women: distracting attire.

That day I went into work to do some classroom preparation before the school year starts. I’m not actually a real teacher, by the way. I’m more of a cheaper alternative to an actual paid professional. What does this mean? It means my classroom isn’t actually mine and other people can basically just come in and use it whenever I’m not there and I can’t complain. So this day I come in to do prep, sure enough there are a bunch of old people from the senior ballroom dance club chilling in there for their council meeting. As anyone knows, the social anxiety in me wants to wait for them to finish whatever shenanigans they’re doing. But they say (one of the most annoying things someone can say when they’re intruding) I’m not in their way. So I proceed to do my work while these people are discussing whatever it was. As I’m working and not caring, suddenly they’re talking about dress code. Some of the ladies, apparently, were coming to this ballroom dance thing in shorts. Now, in California we have had quite a bit of hot weather. Hot weather and humidity. It’s no Arizona, but it is pretty gross outside. But it was a huge concern, for whatever the reason, that these ladies were coming in shorts. Why? Why do you think? It was distracting to the men and made the other women uncomfortable. They had a standard they needed to maintain and these ladies were trashing their class. This issue was such a big deal that they needed to discuss this in their dance council meeting.

And I’m sitting over here thinking, “B****, have you been outside?? You’re old people. Why do you care so much about what other people think??”

But I suppose that’s just the way they are. They are the ones who kept the spirit of victim blaming alive. Plus they paid to use the facility so who am I to say anything?

I will say this, though. The only ones who have a problem with the way other people dress are the ones who have a problem with their own bodies. I know because I’m one of them. But you don’t see me talking trash; I mostly just look away and pretend I don’t see anything.

Let’s just try to be nicer and more understanding, yeah?

Leave a Reply

